Past Fall Authors

Mount Everest's peaks, Vietnam's jungles, colorful African villages, the tragedy of the Holocaust, and battles of America's founding fathers and its Civil War are just a handful of the places we've visited through our Fall Author Event. Since its debut in 1996, our Fall Author Event has quickly grown into what is now one of Northern Utah's premier literary events with attendance of over 1,000 supporters.

But this event is so much more than one public gala evening. Every year, our students compete in a writing contest in conjunction with the event. A theme is chosen based on the visiting author's works, and winners are chosen by the English Department of WSU. Essay contest winners have the opportunity to meet with and attend a private discussion with the author. Many authors provide personal critiques and comments on the student essays during the discussion. Our visiting author also presents a lecture to our secondary students from all over the district, answering their questions and discussing their books. Our Fall Author Event is truly unique in the way it not only brings the community together for the gala event, but also enhances the learning of our students.

We've been honored to host some incredible authors at our Fall Author Event over the years!


Click here to read what some of these authors had to say about their experience in Ogden.

1996: Ray Bradbury

1997: Chaim Potok

1998: Shelby Foote

1999: George Plimpton

2000: Sandra Cisneros

2001: Stephen Ambrose

2002: Jon Krakauer

2003: Tim O'Brien

2004: Ken Burns

2005: Amy Tan

2006: David McCullough

2007: Billy Collins

2008: Alexander McCall Smith

2009: Stephen Venables

2010: Daniel Handler

2011: Geraldine Brooks

2012: Rick Atkinson

2013: Wade Davis

2014: Neil Gaiman

2015: Simon Winchester

2016: Anthony Doerr

2017: Sue Monk Kidd

2018: Erik Larson

2019: Rebecca Skloot